Survivalist Forum banner
1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Avoidance & Deterrence
2,832 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Okay, Job no matter what has happened you are going to need a job.

Guess what? You will need tools of the trade, examples: a Painter will need a set of good brushes, a Butcher will need knives & sharpener, an Electrician will need hand tools & a Fluke meter.

How will you support yourself? Your answer better be flexible.

Let me tell you what I did post Katrina as an example, First I worked as an Armed Security Guard for the American Red Cross, SBA, SSA, Walmart and Sam's Club (which is a bar in New Orleans). At exactly one year after Katrina all of the Government money dried up. So plan B was I worked as an electrician.

I thought that I could help people fix their' homes, boy was I wrong. I spent a year fixing and building everything everywhere but New Orleans. The insurance had not paid off even after two years and few could afford to rebuild, worse when insurance companies did pay off the checks went to the lien-holding banks leaving nothing for the home owners to repair and/or rebuild with.

Surviving as a worker bee means that you must do hard heavy labor outdoors and you better be able to handle it Buddy.

Now there were some jobs that went away and never came back, ever.

Other jobs never stopped or even slowed down, good for you, 'might not have a home but you still have employment. Hooters, I talked to the Owner and he said he had all of the Girls and Customers that he wanted but, not enough Fry Cooks so one of three Hooters stayed shut for a long time after Katrina. One restaurant, (it might have been Houston's) had no buss boys, they had food, waitresses, cooks but the customers had to clean their own tables. My local pizza place had only pepperoni pizza because ingredients had to be shipped in by 18 wheeler from Little Rock, Arkansas, no local super markets were operational due to looting and lack of electricity for the freezers.