Survivalist Forum banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Waiting...Watching..
2,235 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I figure treasure will help me through the recession. Yes, I am at that stage already. Any detecting heads out there that can clue me in?

When I say I'm a beginner, I mean I havent even bought it yet. I wont be paying more than $250 on one either.

How do I decide on one? Whats the criteria for a good one? How do I pick a good spot to poke around? Batteries?

Anyone ever find anything worth while?

On the bright side, I am patient and love the outdoors

·
Here's my safety Sir
14,678 Posts
I have had metal detectors for probable 30 years.Both for land and under water use with hundreds of hours of use. Do not expect to do any more with them than get some fresh air and exercise.

·
Registered
14,214 Posts
I have had metal detectors for probable 30 years.Both for land and under water use with hundreds of hours of use. Do not expect to do any more with them than get some fresh air and exercise.
They will help when your buddy loses his fancy Rolex down by the outhouse in the wee hours.

·
Waiting...Watching..
2,235 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Its only for excercise and time killing mostly.A hobby for a few weeks. There are about two dozen historical battle sites nearby, so bullets and rubbish Im expecting a lot of.

Still, I havent a clue about detecting. I was hopin' someone might have a few do's n dont's

·
Registered
262 Posts
Look used. I have a Whites Di 6000 Pro that I paid 500 bucks for years ago that is a GREAt machine. You can surely find them used much cheaper/

·
Registered
5,306 Posts