Survivalist Forum banner
1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Swampy McSwamp
136 Posts
I have no experience in wolf or coyote tracks.. but if it were a dog, it would be a specific and large breed.. even the impression of the nails is a little too defined for dog.. I think. Looks large as well.. I would think you are correct in the wolf idea, if they are in your habitat. In my neck of the trees, I would immediately think panther.. but all we see is either small game, boar, gator, or panther tracks.. and the occasional horse hoof print.

·
Registered
471 Posts
It's definatly canine but hard to tell by the pic, in the future lay an object of known size next to it so the size can be seen better. In the mud like that if it was a cat you would be able to see the tri-lobed rear pad.
Also I have to ask Grovvy Mike, with all due respect, if he is sure about cats having five toes? I've never seen that and in my Animal tracks book by Olaus J. Murie all of the cats have four toes.

·
Registered
471 Posts
Opps, sorry. I jst moved the pic over and saw the radio next to the track.
I'd say you have a wolf on your hands there! They can measure 4.5 inches.

·
Registered
187 Posts
It most likely isnt a cat, their prints do have 4 toes but as far as I can remember their nails tend to not leave the print. Also their bottom pad is 2 lobe top and 3 lobe bottom.
I'd say Wolf if there are any up in your area.

·
Immortal
1,411 Posts
Also I have to ask Grovvy Mike, with all due respect, if he is sure about cats having five toes? I've never seen that and in my Animal tracks book by Olaus J. Murie all of the cats have four toes.
My bad. When I took the pics of wolf tracks in Alaska they were next to Grizzley tracks - I was thinking "bear" and typed"cat"

cats and dog tracks show 4 toes, bears show 5.

This may help:

Families: (adapted from Tom Brown's Field Guide to Wilderness Survival 1983 NY: Berkley Press)