Survivalist Forum banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
23 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I was wondering if wine would be a good storage item? I know there are people with wine cellars that store wines for many years. Are there special requirements other than cool and dark and what would be the best wines for long term storage?

·
Registered
2,989 Posts
hi wepsbee, cool, dark and humid are the conditions you want for storage. and as consistant a temp as you can get, about 55 degrees.

Store your bottles on their sides or slightly inverted, thats what i do. Red wines are best for storage, champagne stores well, and there are a few white wines that can store too. Most wine you buy at the market is ready to drink and will taste best right away. Im no expert, but have read that most wines that are worthwhile storing are hundreds if not thousands of dollars a botlle. Im out of that price range, and a novice at any rate. I store what i enjoy drinking.

I just laid back 3 cases of my favorite red wine, because I love it and want to make sure I get some before Its all sold out for this year.

·
Registered
2 Posts
hi im new at this thing,but if i may be so bold as to have the audacety to sugest,at the risk of the connosieurs of wine rising ire to try powered wine ,i know ,iknow is not the same as a well aged bottle but hey is for survival purposes only! hope this helps! you can google it ,i tried it it wasnt that bad.please pardon my spelling and any other inconvenience i may have incuured

·
Registered
247 Posts
Anne36 has it right. Wine is easy enough to make though and really no reason to store much of it unless like her you have a favorite kind or vintage or are a collector. Wine will pretty much make itself.

·
Last of the First Line
864 Posts