Survivalist Forum banner

1 - 20 of 28 Posts

·
Registered
98 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello. I recently packed away 5 buckets of white rice away in mylar bags with OA's. Now I'm going to start on flour, salt, sugar and maybe some seasoning, etc. Which of these need oxygen absorbers?

Thx. I'm a noob.

·
Registered
5,601 Posts
Sugar and salt don't need O2 absorbers, since they are natural preservatives and don't go bad.

Everything else needs them.

·
Registered
724 Posts
Hello. I recently packed away 5 buckets of white rice away in mylar bags with OA's. Now I'm going to start on flour, salt, sugar and maybe some seasoning, etc. Which of these need oxygen absorbers?

Thx. I'm a noob.
From what I have read, flour does not keep as long as the other items you mentioned. Most articles I've read indicate that flour only keeps for a couple of years. That's why most folks store wheat (keeps years and years). We rotate our stored flour every two years maximum. Any one else agree or disagree?

·
Registered
5,601 Posts
From what I have read, flour does not keep as long as the other items you mentioned. Most articles I've read indicate that flour only keeps for a couple of years. That's why most folks store wheat (keeps years and years). We rotate our stored flour every two years maximum. Any one else agree or disagree?
BYU did a study back in 2004 that showed flour was good for at least 11 years. (the oldest sample sent in.)
http://contentdm.lib.byu.edu/cdm4/item_viewer.php?CISOROOT=/IR&CISOPTR=91&CISOBOX=1&REC=6

I suspect it would be good for longer times but no samples were sent in to verify this. But still good at 11 years is better then what most folks believe to be true, as far as long term storage.

·
1,313 Posts