Survivalist Forum banner
1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
It might seem a silly question to some, but as this is my very first time growing potatoes. I have no idea when they best time would be to "dig them out". The plants if they were standing up straight would be probably about 6ft tall at this point and I have a very thick layer of straw covering them.

They are German Butterball potatoes
They are still very green and fairly lush looking, more "leggy" at this point. So do I wait for them to die off? Do I wait for them to start dieing(sp?)? I just don't know.

If you need to know location better I'm in Missouri between Springfield and Lebanon.

·
Registered
2,826 Posts
Are they an early variety or maincrop?
that may make a diffrence, dont know about where you are. Here in the uk earlies are ready between 8-12 weeks. Mains are later in the year.

·
The last of the Ravens
1,755 Posts
what MaKettle said. Wait until the tops die down for the biggest yields. though if the need be great, you can still pull'em when the plants are green, just expect smaller potatoes.

·
Prepared Firebird
3,842 Posts
It might seem a silly question to some, but as this is my very first time growing potatoes. I have no idea when they best time would be to "dig them out". The plants if they were standing up straight would be probably about 6ft tall at this point and I have a very thick layer of straw covering them.

They are German Butterball potatoes
They are still very green and fairly lush looking, more "leggy" at this point. So do I wait for them to die off? Do I wait for them to start dieing(sp?)? I just don't know.

If you need to know location better I'm in Missouri between Springfield and Lebanon.