Survivalist Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Muscles From Brussels
47 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I've done some research, and I know I want to go with learning how to shoot a recurve bow.

I was wondering what should be taken into consideration when buying my first recurve bow?

·
Registered
1,152 Posts
Hi, I would recommend joining an Archery Forum, there are some really good Ones and people will help you out
Things to consider, as a total beginner don't go high poundage, get a Bow that you can add poundage to as your strength grows, better to start off light than get frustrated
Next is draw length, make sure you do this correct, there is a few YT vids on getting your draw length
I went with the Samic Sage to start off, it is a great Bow, for beginners and up, depends on budget
Do as much research as you can before buying, we bought pre=made arrows (carbon) then got into building our own, are you going to get into hunting etc or just for fun, again a lot of questions will arise about that
What arrow length etc will come into light when you work out draw length, if you are a handy type, have a look at making your own quivers etc, saves money and a good feeling making your own
Once you have all that worked out
Practice, then do a little more practice and again, esp if you intend on hunting, make sure you are proficient before shooting an animal, they just don't drop dead like you often see on movies, depends on the animal you are hunting, small game yes they will, but bigger game, different story, respect the animal, don't let it suffer by a miss shot that wounds it and it runs off in terrible pain to die a few days later that you won't find and it is a waste
Hope that helps, like anything it can be overwhelming at first, but it is a fantastic sport as well even if you don't hunt
Good luck

·
Muscles From Brussels
47 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Hi, I would recommend joining an Archery Forum, there are some really good Ones and people will help you out