Survivalist Forum banner

1 - 20 of 52 Posts

·
Founder
16,869 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
This evening a guy post a comment on one of my handgun videos on youtube.

hey google modified weaver stance and you won't look like a complete noob.
I have tried the weaver stance and dont like it. Back in the mid 1980s at least one gun magazine wrote about a stance used my the Israeli military - I know it was at least one magazine because I remember reading the article.

The magazine interviewed a combat handgun instructor (from the Israeli military) who said the square with the target, arms straight out, knees slightly bent stance (some people may call this the isosceles stance?) was a more natural stance and better for combat then the classic weaver stance. I do not remember the exact name of the stance mentioned in the magazine.

And now here we are 20 years later and Todd Jarrett is giving almost the same exact instructions as the gun magazine.

Personally, I dont care for the weaver stance (where one arm is straight out and the other one is bent). It feels unnatural and awkward, even in a normal situation, much less a stressful one. I get much better control of the pistol and come back on target faster with both arms straight out and square with the target.

Anyway here are a couple of videos.

This is more like what the Israeli combat handgun instructor was showing.

And my video on youtube - this was the first time for me to shoot this pistol.

·
Deo VIndice
6,108 Posts
kev:

the guy that was bent at the knees...looks alomost painful...I don't think I will be trying that stance as it appears too awkward for me.

·
not a nut
1,629 Posts
To each there own, everybody is going to have a different comfort level, what works best for them may not work as well for you.

·
Registered
18,814 Posts
kev:

the guy that was bent at the knees...looks alomost painful...I don't think I will be trying that stance as it appears too awkward for me.