Survivalist Forum banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
52 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am not new to guns, but I am new to buying gun parts kits. I own an AK-47 and was wanting to buy some extra parts for it. As I searched around I have seen some parts kits that include most of the parts of the gun except a few, like the receiver. The kits look like guns that had been broken down into multiple parts for sale, like the gun had been decommissioned. What is a gun parts kit exactly? Thanks.

·
Sugar-free
4,184 Posts
It is a essentially a rifle that has been blow-torched in half. You can use them for spare parts, or buy a serial numbered reciever and re-assemble the rifle with enough American parts to make it legal. This is a big undertaking, since most AK style rifles are in rough shape to begin with, without the torch cutting! Then you have to remove the parts from the old reciever, like the barrel and trunion and whatnot, so you can reuse them on your new reciever. Then you have to headspace, refinish the wood, and all that stuff. After buying a cheap Romanian AK kit and building one, I vowed never to do it again. It is worth it to just buy a complete one through a dealer, since you have to use a dealer anyway to transfer the reciever for you. Just my take on it, others may find it easier to build one from a kit. It's much easier for me just to cough up the extra 100 bucks and buy one that's already done.

·
25 Or 6 to 4
8,005 Posts
I know some guys cranking them out from flats, but if you don't buy a pre-bent numbered receiver from a dealer you can never sell them, so why waste the parts?

They are stuck with them.

·
Registered
34,722 Posts
I know some guys cranking them out from flats, but if you don't buy a pre-bent numbered receiver from a dealer you can never sell them, so why waste the parts?

They are stuck with them.
Actually you can (Transfer a gun whose reciever you built.)
It just has to follow certain criteria: