Survivalist Forum banner

1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
36 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey guys i am a big ol noob to this forum. A little history i was raised a poor farm kid in western Oregon so then joined the army got out after 7 years. So i have a little bit of know how on my shoulders.

So on to my question. i moved to northern Montana for work where i am totally unfamiliar with EVERYTHING. it snows a lot, its cold as ****, in the summer the bugs thick as the snow in winter, and if your not a cowboy or an Indian you stick out like a sore thumb.

anyway now on to the question lol. the power went out and i seen just how unprepared i was. i have mres, water, some the basics. But i didnt have a way to cook food or stay warm. i have been looking at the Coleman cook stoves. I like the idea of the duel fuel cook stove and lantern. it uses coleman fuel or gasoline. and off of one gallon of fuel it does what 4 and a half little propane bottles does. now my question is i need to use it inside my house some time, with a cracked window will i be ok using either of them? same goes for the lantern.

all advice is more than welcome. thanks guys, sorry for the rant for a simple question.

·
CTP
1,715 Posts
Not a stove expert but will opine.

Use inside? Maybe if it was absolutely necessary for a short period. Just be careful. If you do it inside and have to open windows you may as well just take the 15 minutes, step outside occasionally to cook, flip, etc and go back inside.

If it is for cooking in an emergency situations like power outages I would look at the propane cook tops that are generally made of cast iron and have three burners. Generally have four legs as supports and run off a typical propane cylinder. Some thing like below.

http://www.google.com/products/cata...a=X&ei=oBloT57_HqqciAKR04yOBw&ved=0CEoQ8gIwAA

·
Registered
276 Posts
Stove...inside...yes...JUST FOR COOKING!!!

Lantern...inside...NEVER!!!!!!!!!!