Survivalist Forum banner

1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
537 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
#1 If I use the Katadyn Vario Microfilter do I just put the filtered water into my canteen and then be able to drink it or do I still need to use some type of "Purification Tablets"?

#2 If I just use the "Aquamira" water filter bottle do I still need to Purify the water in some other way?

#3 If I use the "Micropur MP1 Water Purification Tablets" is that all that is needed to make the water safe to drink?

I realize that this is a lot of questions but I am new to this "Hiking" adventure and I just don't want to come down with any hiking disorders if you know what I mean,,,any help appreciated....SEMPER FI:confused:

·
Registered
6,491 Posts
#1 If I use the Katadyn Vario Microfilter do I just put the filtered water into my canteen and then be able to drink it or do I still need to use some type of "Purification Tablets"?

#2 If I just use the "Aquamira" water filter bottle do I still need to Purify the water in some other way?

#3 If I use the "Micropur MP1 Water Purification Tablets" is that all that is needed to make the water safe to drink?

I realize that this is a lot of questions but I am new to this "Hiking" adventure and I just don't want to come down with any hiking disorders if you know what I mean,,,any help appreciated....SEMPER FI:confused:
After filtering with the Vario (especially in North America), you'll be fine drinking as is; same with the Aquamira. If you in an area that is known to have viruses (mostly third world countries), you'll possibly need an extra dose. If your just using Polar Pure or other tablets, you'll need to make sure you "pre-filter" to get the larger sediment or detritus removed before treating.

ROCK6

·
Forum Administrator
16,848 Posts