Survivalist Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey everyone, I'm a total newbie to preparedness but the way things are going I'm starting to prepare for the worst. I've been thinking a lot about bunker building, particularly the amount of air available, and it struck me that you need an awful lot! e.g. in a 1m radius pipe of 4m length, the total oxygen content would be 2626L, which is a maximum of about 5 days' worth - it would be less than that considering that you need a certain pressure to get it into your lungs. Added to that is the obvious buildup of carbon dioxide. Both of these problems are exacerbated by burning fuel.

I know that the obvious solution is to have ventilation inside the bunker, but If chemical or biological warfare was ever used, I don't suppose most people would be able to afford the kind of kit needed to filter it all out. Also, if the airway should get blocked would you volunteer to go out into the abyss to get it going again?!

I'm experimenting with chemical approaches to these problems, particularly sodium percarbonate. If you're not familiar with it, its the stuff in those oxygen bleaches for laundry, its essentially washing soda with hydrogen peroxide dissolved into it. The hydrogen peroxide is a source of oxygen, but I have no idea whether this is a feasible solution to the problem. I'm thinking of it as an emergency oxygen backup mostly, and you'd need a huge amount of the stuff to get a sizeable amount of oxygen out of it (~5Kg per person per day)

I don't know what you guys will think, so please get back to me to tell me if I'm being an idiot or not!!! I'm going to carry out some small scale experiments with it anyway.

·
Registered
100 Posts
Some simple things you can do ....

First of all, be REALLY careful with Oxygen. If you are a smoker, simply put a lit cigarette into pure oxygen and see what it does... Keep away when you do it ... Now, as for providing breathing oxygen ....