Survivalist Forum banner

1 - 20 of 31 Posts

·
To secure peace is to...
4,194 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm pretty obsessive about keeping my vehicles maintained. I was wondering if others did this as well:

I keep an extra stock of:

-Radiator hoses
-Accessory belts
-Headlight and tail light bulbs
-thermostat
-plugs and wires
-all required fluids and filters
-air filter
-fuses

and I also keep the old belts/hoses, etc that I take off and replace. I always try to choose to do my maintenance before it chooses to do me. That way, I have some used spares as well. Not great for the long-term but will work in a pinch.

·
To secure peace is to...
4,194 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
I wish I were as industrious as you are! I may be able to change my oil...thats about it!
Well I'm not a master mechanic by an stretch. But I am pretty good at trouble-shooting and I have several manuals for my truck and I have had two Tacomas, so I'm pretty familiar with them.

Since my truck gets me back and forth from my job, I feel it is an integral part of my livelihood (although I do not work out of my truck by any means). If I can't get to work, then I can't make money.

·
Ron Paul 2012
658 Posts
Sounds like a good list. A few shop towels to help with the job are always good to, along with a set of jumper cables. If all else fails, AAA is a decent backup. Something else I think is a must too - cell phone charger.

·
Registered
503 Posts
Here is what I keep in my Break down kit

Full set of fluids for entire vehicles.
Full set of bulbs
Full set of fuses and a fuse link
Spare belt’s.
Spare ignition module.
Spark plugs
Spare u-joints.
Radiator leak stop and a generic flexible radiator hose.
Full sized spare tire.
Spare starter solenoid
Spare valve stems
Tire sealant
Tire plugs
road Flairs
Carburetor rebuild kit
Thermostat
Oil filter
Fuel filter
Set of lug nuts

·
To secure peace is to...
4,194 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
fat larry,

Good list!