Survivalist Forum banner

1 - 20 of 31 Posts

·
Registered
66 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Ok, I am new to growing potatoes. Last year was my first year and I had very good results.

This year I am going to give it another go. I have my seed potatoes baught, 10lbs of yukon gold, 2 lbs of German butterball and 2 lbs of aderondac blue.

My garden is only so big so I would like to try growing some of them in raised containers to help with space. I have read that the Yukons don't work good in these raised beds, but will these butterball and blues work?

Also, up here in Michigan our average last day of frost is in the end of
April/first of may. But we have been having summer like weather and I don't feel we will be getting any hard freezes any more.

Am I safe to start some potatoes?

·
Blackhorse Cav 3/11 ACR
584 Posts
It takes about 3 weeks for a seed tater to pop stems up through the soil when planted about 4" deep.
This new growth is susceptible to frost .
If you started early and a frost became reality after they poke through then you could cover them with more soil to protect them.
Can't answer the other question(s).

·
Subterranean Nut Hoarder
665 Posts
I grow red pontiacs in a clawfoot bathtub in the garden. They do just fine. I angled it so the drain hole is at the lowest point, and they're planted in alternating layers of straw, compost, and dirt so the drainage is good.

·
Premium Member
1,814 Posts
I grow reds and whites in both raised and flat beds. I plant them just before last frost and cover over with a thick, heavy layer of dry leaves to protect any new growth from the frost.

·
Registered
1,590 Posts