Survivalist Forum banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
25 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have long been concerned with our financial stability as a country and the the ever increasing debt. I work in the financial industry and have a strong understanding of financial markets and fractional banking. One concerning trend i have watched increase at a quickening pace is our national debt. One of the tools i use to keep up to date I’d the US Debt clock site. They have a tab labeled 2025 budget showdown and it is a very bleak view, but what I cannot find is what is the 2025 trigger they are predicting. Does anyone have any insight of a 2025 budget trigger?

Thank you

·
Registered
726 Posts
Might that be the point when interest payments on the debt become the majority of the annual budget?
don’t know for sure just guessing.
😝

·
Dirt Dweller
466 Posts
I think they just pulled a date in the near future. The debt is like 11 or 12% of total government spending now. With about 70% of the debt being in the the 7 year maturity 5he average interest rate is probably about 2 %. What is going to happen if the ten year goes from today’s 1.34% to 3 let alone 4%? And today Chairman Powell said now is not a time to worry about the debt. I feel sorry for our grand kids.

·
Dirt Dweller
466 Posts
I don’t own crypto currencies but this could be a reason for the rise of this class.

·
Registered
1,393 Posts
A negative interest rate would mean that "you" have to pay them to have the bond.
Also your savings account would decrease every month.
Sort of like a stock making you pay a dividend just to own the stock? I don't see a lot of people going for that option.

·
Registered
997 Posts
China will have to call some of our loans. Global inflation by then will force them to. By 2024 the curve (index drop) will be to great and if we are not squared away financially it’ll be a tough road to go down.

·
Registered
2,552 Posts