Survivalist Forum banner

1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
53 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So this is my first real thread here and the reason I joined was to ask this, so here goes.

I'm a Petroleum Engineer and used to work at a waste-water treatment facility. I will confirm that Sodium Hypochlorite is used in the treatment of the raw effluent that was pumped back into the facilities for local use. This water was not for personal consumption (obviously).

Chlorine bleach (Sodium Hypochlorite) is used as a "main" ingredient in the treatment of potable water for municipalities.

The Sodium Hypoclorite used in industrial applications is typically 10%, whereas personal use (store bought) bleach is 5% or less.

What I'd like to know is: Does anyone have an EXACT formula or calculation for using beach as a raw water disinfectant for potable usage? I.E. drops per liter/gallon?

I've been told before that 1 drop (5%) per liter is sufficient, but I'd like to hear what you folks have to say.

I was looking at investing in one of those UV pens, but I know first hand that UV does not kill every potentially harmful pathogen in raw water. Chlorine bleach on the other hand does. Looking at it from a cost/benefit scale, one of those pens costs $60-100+, whereas 1 gallon of bleach is $4 and could potentially treat 10-20x the volume of water (given battery life) as a UV pen.

·
Time to hit reset
25,656 Posts
According to the CDC:

To disinfect water,

•Clean and disinfect water containers properly before each use. Use containers that are approved for water storage. Do not use containers previously used to store chemicals or other hazardous materials.
•Filter it through a clean cloth, paper towel, or coffee filter OR allow it to settle.
•Draw off the clear water.
◦When using household chlorine bleach: