Survivalist Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
118 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
does anyone have any experience with making a truck-bed trailer and getting them registered? i have a truck that is available that the front is completely totaled and the bed is almost perfect. i was thinking of using it for a few different reasons. one-it matches the body style of my suburban, two-leave the gas tank on there and instant extra fuel storage, three-it would be cheaper than buying a truck, 4-i could put a camper top on it and use it as a tent when i go on weekend camping trips. also it matches the ride height of my suburban, so i wouldn't have to mess with drop hitches.

if anyone has any experience-good or bad-please let me know. this is my first time i have thought of building one of these, and want to know if it is worth it.

·
Registered
3,376 Posts
Not sure of rules in your area but you can go to your car tag people and get a license plate for it as a new build. The idea is one I have done here in Texas before more for the wheel configuration. You come out with wheels that will interchange and give you more spare tires. Get a GOOD welder to do the work on the front end. You want it to be level when you hitch up. YOu also may want to extend the front of the "trailer" to allow for a generator and propane tank "nest". These are nice to have. On one we did we put a topper on it to enclose the trailer.

Good luck and good hauling.

·
Registered
18,817 Posts