Survivalist Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Good day all, I'm a novice fisherman who has been trying to catch something other than seaweed.

Whenever I cast out, my line sinks to the bottom (as it should). However, my line never stays in the same spot. The line floats back to me in strong and weak currents. I've tried different sinkers, brand new mono-line, braided line, and adjusting my drag. Nothing seems to work.

How do I fix this problem?

·
Registered
12,359 Posts
Your line floats back to you?

Does the sinker or lure or bait float back as well?

Because THAT is what matters.

I'm into flies and spinners myself, I only ever use weights to help get distance or to gain depth.

·
Live Secret, Live Happy
16,176 Posts
Line management depends a lot on what bait or lure you are using, and how you are presenting it. If you are trying to fish with bait in a moving current, you would be better off to use a large egg or bank sinker, pass the line through the sinker, tie it off to a swivel, the add about four more feet of line and your baited hook to the other side of the swivel.

Keep the line between your rid and the sinker finger tight, and let the bait will move slightly on its four foot leash. When a fish picks up your bait, allow line to play out till you think the fish has taken it. Then set the hook.

Line type is not important for this kind of fishing, paicents is.

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Your line floats back to you?

Does the sinker or lure or bait float back as well?

Because THAT is what matters.

I'm into flies and spinners myself, I only ever use weights to help get distance or to gain depth.
The line moves back offshore, towards me. The line is submerged so the sinkers and bait stay down. There's no point in fishing if the line doesn't stay in the area where I cast it.

·
Registered
12,359 Posts