Survivalist Forum banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
14,867 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I pose a question - How are you prepping our horrible sandy soil for planting? I am a big newbie to gardening. I am reading books, but I have yet to figure out the science of soil. Any help would be appreciated.

·
Registered
12 Posts
I ain't an expert ,but I live in Florida and grew up gardening .
My suggestion would be to first start on your compost pile. Compost does tends to leech right through the sand ;so you might consider a raised bed , and also to start very small.

·
Registered
233 Posts
I add horse manure (free from Mom's pasture). I have started composting this year and will be adding this, too. Also, I will be adding composted chicken poop. Any amendments like this help. But you will be surprised at what will grow in Florida's sandy soil.

·
Registered
153 Posts
We had a hard time with our garden as well. An old man told me a trick he used. Make raised beds and the put newspaper down at the bottom. Not the colored but the black and white and then fill it up with good garden soil. Also make a compost pile. Keep it going on and add and turn frequently. We also add those drip hoses to our garden. You might want to try hay at the bottom instead of news paper. Might work too. We are trying that in a new bed. You will have to water everyday unless you get a lot of rain. In NE FL it has been dry so we water in the evening with a timer on the hose.

·
Registered
18,814 Posts
I pose a question - How are you prepping our horrible sandy soil for planting? I am a big newbie to gardening. I am reading books, but I have yet to figure out the science of soil. Any help would be appreciated.