Survivalist Forum banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am in the process of putting together the family BOB and I've come to the point where I am considering how to best store/transport the dog's food. Good news is it is strictly dry food. Bad news is he's a big dog and I'm looking at 5 cups per day. Anyone have any experience with the best ways to store the food and how long it keeps?

·
Registered
6,885 Posts
I have been putting vacc sealed kibble in my pet's BOB for almost two years now. I know that after a year it was still fine and they ate it right up. I don't know about more than a year.

I do not put it in mylar, use O2 absorbers, or anything like that. I just use a Food Saver bag like with any other food.

Oh, and the kibble I use is Nutrience Original Recipe for Older Small/Medium breeds.

·
Confused,but not Lost
1,088 Posts
Dang, what have you got a horse? I have a 150lb Newf and a 55lb dingo/heeler and together they get 6 cups. My wife and I thought about getting one of those big vacuum bags for storing blankets and such and trying to vacpak an unopened 40lb bag to see if it works. Just a thought!

·
Registered
1,108 Posts
(1) Most dogs will eat anything. Carrion and poop are dietary staples. We personally feed our hounds the cheapest off name we can find. If your dog is picky, fix that now with hunger and variety - just like you would a spoiled child.

(2) Dry kibble has a decent shelf life - it is pretty much corn for calorie, soy for protein, and meat by-product for flavor. A simply ziplock will keep it dry and edible for a year. Not good for LONG term storage, but for a BOB, it will work well so long as your flip it every year or so.

(3) If space is an issue, consider crushing the kibble into powder and mixing it with water into a paste for the dog to eat. A few quick rawhide chews for dental health on the side will make up for the loss of kibbling if it has to be done for a long time.