Survivalist Forum banner
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
226 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Ever since .22s were manufactured decades ago, they have became a popular caliber, and good investment. Uses ranging from small game hunting, plinking, and varmint killing, have landed this caliber much respect. I personally love my Winchester Wildcat .22LR, and it has been a very reliable rifle since I received it. A .22 rifle can easily be made into an extremely accurate gun with the addition of a good scope, and a caring owner. Like all calibers and guns, a .22 requires cleaning. But please share your opinions of this famous caliber. Who knows, it may just save your life one day. :cool:

·
7.62x39
239 Posts
One of my favorites to be sure. I started shooting it when I was maybe 7 or 8 (I think?)
It was my best friend on many many early cool fall mornings here in PA and many evenings as well. I started out with my dad's Winchester 22 and then when i was old enough, I got my very own Remington Fieldmaster.
I shot 22 target competitively in my teens and ended up with a nice mossberg target 22 that is more accurate than I could ever be.
Great, versatile caliber that anyone could truly shoot and how many many shooters got their start. Sort of like your first car, you never forget it.

·
Darting from the shadows
5,760 Posts
My .22 has taken it's fair share of game, from rabbits, possums, turkeys to goats and pigs.
Shot placement and you can bring down almost anything.

An awesome beginner cartridge as well, I have taught a lot of people to shoot with it, accurate enough that they see immediate results.
Cheap enough that they can continue practicing.

Light weight, 500 rounds doesn't weigh all that much.

yep, I love my wee .22LRs,
I've got a Norinco JW-15, talk about a cheap tack driver, the right ammo and it's shooting sub 1 inch at 50 metres, after 100, any deficincies are more likely me.