Survivalist Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
devil's advocate
162 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I love my Tevas, I wear them every day. My last pair lasted more than 10 years. But I can't have had my new pair for more than one or two years, and I just found a big crack in the bottom of one of them, across the part where the foot bends. (They're also worn down quite a bit in that place.. it may be from living in the city, I never used to do nearly as much walking on pavement as I do at the moment..)
What can I do to fix it? My room mate suggested latex, but I've never used it before. Anyone have experience with it? Or know of another adhesive or rubber substance that's durable and will stay flexible when it dries?
Or I suppose I could take it to a shoe repair place or send it in to Teva, but I'd like to know if there is a way I can fix it myself.

I am sorry if this is not the appropriate place for this thread. I'm thinking it's rather hiking-related..

·
Registered
1,771 Posts
I love my Tevas, I wear them every day. My last pair lasted more than 10 years. But I can't have had my new pair for more than one or two years, and I just found a big crack in the bottom of one of them, across the part where the foot bends. (They're also worn down quite a bit in that place.. it may be from living in the city, I never used to do nearly as much walking on pavement as I do at the moment..)
What can I do to fix it? My room mate suggested latex, but I've never used it before. Anyone have experience with it? Or know of another adhesive or rubber substance that's durable and will stay flexible when it dries?
Or I suppose I could take it to a shoe repair place or send it in to Teva, but I'd like to know if there is a way I can fix it myself.

I am sorry if this is not the appropriate place for this thread. I'm thinking it's rather hiking-related..
Blue RTV. You can find it in any auto parts store. Slap it on, let it cure overnight, you are good to go!:thumb:

·
devil's advocate