Survivalist Forum banner
1 - 20 of 99 Posts

·
ready to rock
41 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
hey everyone, not sure if im beating a dead horse or not, i searched for the topic, but found little,

i know that everything taurus used to manufacter was garbage, but its supposedly gotten much much better. i've got a 24/7 in .40 and it shoots and performs like a dream, but i have no knowledge of there revolvers.

anyone who owns a new taurus revolver, more specifically the ultralights or rgbulls, that can give me some knowledge?.

thanks for anything guys

·
Registered
225 Posts
I have a blued Taurus 44 mag. 4" barrel ported. Never, has it failed me! Shot reloads out of it in 44special, and 44 magnum. I carry it every season Elk hunting, here in Colorado. Though, a little on the heavey side. Pull trigger and it goes bang everytime.

·
Registered
100 Posts
I have two stainless trackers - one in .357 that was new in 2003 and one in .44 that was new in 2006. The tracker is the smaller frame and the raging bull is the bigger frame. My trackers have done just fine and I've put about 1,000 rounds through the .357 and about 700 through the .44.

You are right about the quality improving. 30 years ago, Taurus revolvers were pretty crappy. I cracked a frame on a new .357 back in the '80's with just store bought .38 rounds. They have come a long way since then.

One thing I will say though is that the triggers on a lot of them could use some work. If you have a chance, work the trigger on several before you buy and get the smoothest one. If you are buying blind, set aside $50 for a trigger job. Even with that extra $50 cost, Taurus revolvers are a great buy in my opinion especially with the prices that S&W is charging these days.

·
Registered
7,198 Posts
I used to own one of their older .38 snub-nose revolvers. I had no problems with it. Gave it to a friend who was hurting financially.

If you're looking for a revolver check out Ruger. I've been very happy with their products.