Survivalist Forum banner

1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
138 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi Y'all;
Does anyone know if it's too late to start sprouting sweet potatoes for March planting?
:)tamilee

·
Here's my safety Sir
14,678 Posts
Josiah922.
how about a quick lesson on sprouting sweet potatoes.
thanks

·
Premium Member
1,950 Posts
Yall, are helpless.

ROFL, just joking.....Yall know I am new to this stuff too.

I will try to do you a video tomorrow. But here it is in a nutshell. At least this is what my mother did. She was the green thumb in the family.

Take a mason jar. Fill it with lukewarm water. Take some toothpicks and stab them into the sweet potato so they are around the sides of the potato. In other words the long axis should be up and down. (hehe - if it was the other way it wouldn't fit.) Then take the more pointy one of the ends and place that into the water. The toothpicks will hold to potato half way out of the water. Place in sunlight and keep water in the jar. Wait....

That is really it.

·
Here's my safety Sir
14,678 Posts
I source I read says keep the slips at about 80 degrees while sprouting. Just seems like that is might warm. I got lots of sand to put them in.

·
Here's my safety Sir
14,678 Posts
Got it thanks..........Yall. hey I got kin in Bibb county I can say it.

·
Registered
200 Posts
fyi.. after u have planted the sweet potatos.. the leaves that grows on the twine that runs all over the place.. the middle portion.. those tender leaves can be eaten.. taste mightly fine in a stirfry with some oyster/hoisin sause..

·
Registered
5,611 Posts
Im in Texas and didnt get mine planted here until June thanks to the record rainfall. Mine did just fine and infact I am about to eat a 2 fisted sized baked sweet potatoe from my garden this afternoon for lunch.

·
Registered
138 Posts
Discussion Starter #11
HI Y'all;