Survivalist Forum banner

1 - 20 of 103 Posts

·
Mom Walton
1,390 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have been gardening for over 20 years.

I do not use chemical pesticides so I plant enough to share with the little critters. If we see them we squash them.:xeye: For this reason you will often see imperfect plants.

I am also not meticulous with weeds. If we have a week with extra time on my hands, then we get them all. Basically I just do damage control when I can.

I have 20 or so beds, (I haven't counted them lately.) I do not use materials to raise them. We have good soil so it has not been necessary.

I am gardening right next to a creek on "bottom land." It is spring time so mowing takes a back seat to planting on the farm right now. Please excuse the wildness. We are in a valley in the woods.

We plant our sweet corn, bread corn, and melons in traditional rows in the fields. Yesterday we planted 120 Amish Paste and Roma tomato plants in the field. I will try to get pictures posted.

We also planted some more tomatoes in the garden yesterday where we pulled up the finished broccoli plants. This is our second planting. The first plants are doing well and green tomatoes on them

Today we hoed around the sweet corn and melons in the field.

The garden spot in the picture is 85' x 125'. The beds are 4 x 25. the far right corner use to be in vegetables, but is being prepared for berries.

I will post some pictures closer up as soon as I take some. Here are a couple at a distance my 11 yo daughter took from our deck this past week.

Where you see the cucumber trellis on the right, we staked out for an arbor to grow hardy kiwi. Those are the beams for it waiting for us on the bottom left as you go into the garden spot. We hope to move that forward as soon as the cucumbers are done. We have the kiwi in pots on my deck. Last year they took over the railings and I had to cut them free to bring the pots in.

Attachments

·
Registered
3 Posts
nice pics.......