Survivalist Forum banner

1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
150 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I apologize in advance, I am new to country living, only been at it full time for about 8 months now.

So I go out last night for a "necessary" about 2am. No external lights on, but there is a full moon. I see a black cat run out from under the house, and hide under the trailer. I get the flashlight and look under the trailer, sure enough, an adult cat, no visible collar or anything.

I have 4 neighbors within about a 1/2 mile radius, and I don't know specifically if they have cats.

I sat there thinking perhaps I'd like to have him (her?) hang around. It's a little lonely out there, and I wouldn't mind having a familiar animal around, even though I know they're not cuddly. Basically something I can set some food out for, but I'll know if I miss a day, he'd be okay, just go grab a squirrel or a bird or something.

How could I set food out so that only he would get to it and not the raccoons?

Maybe I'm being unrealistic, though. Lots of things occur to me:
  • Would the thing become domesticated and dependent, like a "you -feed-it-you-own-it" kind of thing?
  • Ethically I would probably need to trap it and get it fixed, I suppose.
  • If it's a female am I going to have nests/kittens/cat poop/cat whiz everywhere?
  • Maybe also it'd better just to leave it be and make the decision to have an actual pet and commit to the whole care/feeding/expense thing.
  • Or maybe I'm just overthinking it. Just set some little friskies out and see what happens. Worst case, he gets a good meal.

·
Registered
2,818 Posts