Survivalist Forum banner

1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have a question about sugar. I bought a 50 lb bag, then seperated it into smaller food saver bags, and sealed the food saver bags without vacuum sealing it. I plan on putting these bags int a plastic storage tub. If I buy 10 lb bags of sugar, I leave them in the paper bag and put them into food saver bags then seal them. We have ants so I am concerned about them ruining all my sugar. Is this the best way to do sugar or is there a better way?

·
15 years old
181 Posts
If you put them in a plastic storage tub how can the ants get in? Seems like a pretty logical thing to do if you ask me, yet again I'm no expert.

I think after closing the bags and putting them in a plastic storage, they should be safe from ants.

·
Super Moderator and Walking Methane Refinery
67,135 Posts
If the ants can't get into the tub, then your sugar will be fine. If they can climb it and the lid doesn't fit really tight, they'll find a way in though. Ants are really bad at that.

Sugar is pretty easy to store. It doesn't need anything fancy. It doesn't need protected from O2 or anything. It just needs to be kept dry and away from buggies.

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
I'm planning on storing honey too. Thanks for the replies, it helps my confidence to know I'm on the right track.

·
Registered
2,306 Posts
Sure its called honey. never goes bad, takes less to use than sugar and unlike sugar its 100% natural. also very easy to store.