Survivalist Forum banner

1 - 20 of 28 Posts

·
ΜΟΛΩΝ ΛΑΒ&
568 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am new to prepping but I have been reading up on it for quite a while. I finally started accumulating supplies (prepping on a budget). I have a prepping partner who I do a fair amount of trading with and we pool our resources to get things done, like today. We each provided food and split it when we were done. He had the foodsaver and I traded items for my portion of the mylar bags. I wanted to try them out before I went and bought my own supply. Now, I wouldn't do this prepping thing with just anybody, this particular person is a like minded family member.

Today was definitely trial and error as it was our first time doing long term food storage. The items I prepped today were: basmati rice, jasmine rice, dried pinto beans, assorted dried beans (for soup). I used 1 gallon mylar bags with appropriate oxygen absorbers. We had the idea that we would be able to use the food saver to vacuum seal these bags. It didn't quite work out that way so I am not 100% happy with how the packaging turned out. The foodsaver, however, did a really fine job sealing the bags. It was hard to get as much air out as possible and I think this is due to the amount of dried goods in the bags.

In the photo below, we cut some of the gallon bags in half for smaller portion sizes. Being the novice I am, I have a few comments/questions:

All of my mylar bags looked like the larger one as far as air in the bag goes. From the time I finished sealing the bags, to the time this photo was taken, it was 3 hours. Most of the 1/2 gallon bags look like the one on the left as the oxygen absorbers are doing their job. I only have (3) 1 gallon bags and they all have so much air in them still. If they don't deflate by tomorrow, is it ok to open them up and re-do them?