Survivalist Forum banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Rookie
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I went out to Lowes today with the hope of putting together a "start up" vegetable garden.

I've got 6 different vegetables spinach, carrots, Jalapeno peppers, broccoli, string beans, and tomatoes.

I have no experience with planting but very anxious to learn. I picked up a Burpee Self Watering seed starter, does anyone have any experience with this kit? It says to wait 4 weeks until the seed sprout and then transfer them into individual containers. Any recommendations on which type of containers I should use? How exactly do SWC's work and what is the best way to build one?

·
Registered
3,812 Posts
For tomatoes you'll want something at least 12" deep for roots. A five gallon bucket works well if you drill small holes in the bottom for drainage.

Carrots don't like to be transplanted, you'd do well to put them in some square 10 to 12 inch deep pots, the kind that people use on their decks and patios. They're super tiny when they first sprout, as is their seed. If you plant seed in one pot, then follow with additional sowing in a second pot you'll have more than one harvest of carrots and won't have to use them all up or give them away. Sow them in rows that are 2 or 3 inches apart and thin seedlings in rows to 2" apart. That's a lot of carrots in a square foot pot!

If beans are pole beans then you'll need a trellis for the vines to grow on. If they're bush you won't. I'd try a five gallon bucket with pretty much everything you're growing except the spinach and carrots, or you're going to need a planting bed to put it all in. I've seen spinach growing in recycled 2 litre soda bottles and hung on a railing. This will require that you keep an eye on the water and make sure your spinach doesn't dry out too much, but whatever works.