Survivalist Forum banner
1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
94 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am interested in maybe using small solar panels to charge small items like batteries or cell phones or maybe a light.

where can i buy solar panels cheaply to run as much as i can.
I can't afford to panel my whole roof to run a whole house system or something like that but maybe a emergency type kit to run what ever i can.

I was thinking also about buying solar sidewalk lights and then removign the panels for other uses.
anyone know how to wire them up or how to figure up whats needed to run what.
I'm a novice to solar energy so any help is appreciated .

·
Registered
2,123 Posts
I have gotten all the things for my meager solar setup from this place...

http://www.northerntool.com/webapp/...=mode+matchallpartial&Dx=mode+matchallpartial

I think it is probably what your looking for. I only have a 5 and a 15 watt panel and a couple of deep cycle batteries going to a 400 watt inverter. It doesn't run much, but it's electricity. I run an alternator off of a 6 hp engine to power a 1200 watt inverter. I have run a circular saw using that.

·
Registered
94 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Thanks.

I have a 12 horse riding mower that the deck is rusted out on and i don't use it anymore, I would love to find details on how to make a homemade genny out of that and make as much power as i can.

I can't seem to find a basic lamens term guide on how to do that.
Can you point me in a good direction.

·
Banned
651 Posts