Survivalist Forum banner

1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
372 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Looking for peoples opinions on the best shotgun for what the title states.

I'm looking for something fairly nice, but I would like to keep it under lets say $1500.

I believe Id like a 12 gauge, although willing to listen to reasons why another gauge would be preferable.

Looking for the best bang for my buck that delivers, looks, performance and durability.

I'd like something I could possibly keep for a long time, maybe hand down to my son one day.

And for those of you who would not mind spending the time, educate me about your choice please.

Honestly, Id be very interested in learning why one shotgun over the other is a good shotgun for ducks/small game.

·
Behind Enemy Lines
776 Posts
I'm not too good with shotguns, but there really isnt a need for a 12 gauge if youre goin to do small game. Waterfowl yes, but if by small game you mean rabbits/squirrels etc then 12 gauge is an overkill.

·
Registered
645 Posts
I'm not too good with shotguns, but there really isnt a need for a 12 gauge if youre goin to do small game. Waterfowl yes, but if by small game you mean rabbits/squirrels etc then 12 gauge is an overkill.
It all depends on what you put in you shot gun. You get more shot from your shot gun with the 12 guage. Unless you have a twitchy sholder when it comes to recoil then thier is no reason to go with less.

·
Behind Enemy Lines
776 Posts
I agree..but it depends on the person. Like you'd know Maverick, I'm hesitant on how much recoil I can handle. 12 gauge can be used for alot of different animals. But if you arent shooting a huge buck or bear and just using it for duck or small game, 20 will be just as good. A 12 may blow the squirrel to pieces.

·
Registered
645 Posts