Survivalist Forum banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
88 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
What would be a good light sleeping bag or system that would be good for a fall/ summer/ spring kind of backpacking?

·
Founder
16,867 Posts
I like the coleman line of sleeping bags. Their not expensive, and they get the job done.

I made this video in March of 2008 while on a camping trip with my kids. The only thing that I did not like about the bag, the compressions straps are sewn at the seams on the stuff sack, which makes for a weak point in the design. If you pull the compression straps a little too much, there is a chance of the strap tearing loose from the stuff sack. The compression strap should have ran over the end of sack, which would have made it a lot stronger.

·
Simmer down now
1,711 Posts
I have a 40 degree mummy bag I bought years ago at the LL Bean 2nd's store. I have a bag liner I use with it and find most nights in the summer I can get away using just the liner as my sleeping bag and use the bag itself as a pad. Spring and fall I use the liner in the bag but usually the bag is unzipped.

A lot of people here like Wiggy's sleeping bags. I have no experience with them yet. I think pairing one of the lightweight wiggy's with a decent bag liner and you'd be good to go.

·
striving for perfection
113 Posts
what type of camping are you doing?

What would be a good light sleeping bag or system that would be good for a fall/ summer/ spring kind of backpacking?
This may depend on what type of camping you are doing, as Kev stated the Coleman bags are great, I use them for car camping.

If you want to go ultra light and go deep in the woods you need something even lighter. I use a Mont-bell #5, a bit expensive but it only weighs 1lb 2 oz, and packs to 4.8" x 9.5", I can go for a 3 day and night trip with a pack only weighing about 15-20 pounds (depending on food choices).