Survivalist Forum banner

1 - 20 of 38 Posts

·
Registered
31 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So I'm really new to all this (preparedness/defense, etc.) and looking to expand my EDC/BOB capabilities. I've watched all the YouTube videos I could find and learned a lot. I have a good idea what gear I want to start off with and what I want to graduate to as my knowledge grows (gear w/out knowledge is useless).

Right now I'm looking at bags and packs and I could really use some advice from more experienced members.

To expand my EDC I was looking at the Nite-Ize Hip Pock-its and or Clip-Tool holster thingy (the one for multi-tool/flashlight). Has anyone had any experience w/those?

Should I get MOLLE compatible belt-packs instead so they can be lashed to a vest/backpack if needed at a later date?(I'm pretty sure that's a yes to this)

What brands of MOLLE gear are good and which aren't? Is Maxpedition worth all the hype? Anyone have experience with Leapers/Condor/CTD or any cheaper alternatives? Starting a system from scratch is expensive.

Last, but not least, the title of my post. While having a modular packing system from EDC to "Yellow Event" is my ultimate goal, should I/how do I disguise my capabilities?

Everyone on YouTube is fine with all this "Tactical Gear" (as am I, I like the colors) but I'm concerned that from EDC down to BOB/GHB that all this military-looking gear will mark me for more experienced 'wolves' as "shoot him first" (using the "Nutnfancy" Sheep/Wolves/Sheepdog analogy).

I prefer to fly under the radar. Does anybody have any suggestions on that front? (Maxpedition sells some "civilian" colors, but only from them and only a few things). Am I better off with "civilian" products(trying to stay away from "fanny-packs" lol)?

Thanks in advance for the help!

·
350 Posts
I was given a worthwhile tidbit awhile back that I've used.