Survivalist Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Banned
426 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey guys, I am new to fish filleting, and learned how to do it for the first time this past November. I've filleted a bit since then, however usually when going out with the guys. I would borrow one of their fillet knives and go to work. I will be going by myself in a few days, and don't have a fillet knife, nor the funds to purchase one (X-mas shopping totally wiped me out). However, I was throwing away a bunch of old kitchen ware, and came across a set of steak knives. Nothing expensive. However, I was looking it and it was about the same length and shape at the fillet knives I used. There were some longer ones, but I used a few the same size as this steak knife. Plus this knife still has sharp serrations, so it is pretty darn sharp So my question, since I have never used one for this, can one use a serrated knife for fish filleting? Will it cause a mess of the meat?

·
I help enlighten folks
16,624 Posts
filet knives aren't serrated. just buy one for 7 bucks.

·
Really?
16,125 Posts
Do a search on You Tube on fish filleting and see what they use.....alot of folks are going to electric slicing knives( and they are serrated), but I don't. I use a regular fillet knife, as that what I've used all my life.

·
RESET CONGRESS!!
9,462 Posts
In a pinch, use what'cha got. Get a filet knife down the road. I prefer a nice filet knife, but I've used a $2.00 pocket knife when I was a kid.

I watched a guy on Youtube fillet a fish with a Kukri! No small knife! Now I can't find it, but thus guy gets it done with a rather large blade.. serrated or not, just enjoy the fishing and the meal! (Wal Mart used to carry some inexpensive Rapala filet knives in a couple of different lengths.)

http://ecx.images-amazon.com/images/I/41268S9869L._AA260_.jpg

·
Registered
158 Posts