Survivalist Forum banner
1 - 20 of 28 Posts

·
greatest gift...bullets
78 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I had a very serious real wake up call happen to me monday and if I don't do something about it all of our preps will be wasted on me and my own shortcomings. Let me start off with a little backstory and the get into my current situation. I have been a regular smoker for about 7 or 8 years. For the past year or so DH and I have scalled back the smoking quite a bit, what we did was but 1 pack of smokes he would smoke half and then I would smoke the other half and a pack has been lasting us about a day and a half. DH has been very active his whole life, played all kinds of sports, mixed martial arts, rotc then military. My background is pretty much the opposite my childhood/adolescence was spent in my bedroom reading and listening to music then my early adult life was spent in a bar.

Now Monday and my wake up call... I have been sick for about a month now, very irritating nasal issues and a persistent cough. I haven't been running a fever so I pretty much tried everything under the sun to do home treatment, nothing worked. Finally broke down Monday and went into to see my doctor. He is a great doctor smart, funny not condescending at all.

So I go into to the doctor and he tells me that I have chronic bronchitis which if left untreated will lead to COPD and lung disease. He tells me that I dont have to quit smoking I just have to quit smoking cigarettes, kinda looked at him funny while he explained that I should switch over to electronic cigarettes. I can still get my nicotine without inhaling a bunch of burnt leaves. He gives me an inhaler which I now have to use twice a day, 2 antibiotics, a corticosteroid and some various other medicines to treat the bronchitis and I have to go back in a few weeks for a followup.