Survivalist Forum banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Dog bites - Owner shoots
485 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Ok im a nOOb so please forgive....

I was given some peppers from my mother. I seperated seeds from peppers. Have drying on wax paper. What do I do now? I want to begin a garden.. Iowa location. ... from here im an idiot....is seperarating seeds and drying out ok? and to plant in spring? what is last time i can plant for seeds? like if i wanna ration out over 3 years?
any suggestions and other plants i may use is greatly appreciated

·
Registered
8,228 Posts
it all depends on where your mom got the seeds for her garden.if they are GMO seeds odds are they will not grow. they have genetically changed the veggies to where they dont produce seed that will germinate. why would they do that you ask? because now everyone has to buy new seed every year more money for the seed company.you need organic or heirloom seeds.

if those seeds are ok then this spring i would sprout them and grow a few plants and make about a pound of seed.

http://www.heirloomacresseeds.com/

·
Registered
41 Posts
it all depends on where your mom got the seeds for her garden.if they are GMO seeds odds are they will not grow. they have genetically changed the veggies to where they dont produce seed that will germinate. why would they do that you ask? because now everyone has to buy new seed every year more money for the seed company.you need organic or heirloom seeds.

if those seeds are ok then this spring i would sprout them and grow a few plants and make about a pound of seed.

http://www.heirloomacresseeds.com/
if you buy the heirloom seeds...how long will they store..& what is the best way to store them?..thanks..

·
Healer
918 Posts
Some people store seeds in the fridge, some in the freezer. As
long as your seeds are properly dry and protected from
moisture leaking in - if your freezer thaws, they can do the
freeze and thaw cycle many times, so power is not an issue -