Survivalist Forum banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
1,210 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So, I have my carbine ordered. What should I lay back for replacement parts?
What parts, mags, accesories, etc should I avoid? What are the quirks of the carbine that only a user would know.
For those that don't know me I'm not a firearm novice. I know about cheap mags, folding stocks, etc. {In general} I am however fairly ignorant as far as the M1 carbine goes.
So what am I missing?
Oh, one question in particular. I see that some mag catches will not support the GI 30 round mags. How do I tell if I have on that will or not?

·
BEEN HERE TO LONG
1,336 Posts
let the bolt slam shut or it wont work right

·
Lurker
118 Posts
So, I have my carbine ordered. What should I lay back for replacement parts?
What parts, mags, accesories, etc should I avoid? What are the quirks of the carbine that only a user would know.
For those that don't know me I'm not a firearm novice. I know about cheap mags, folding stocks, etc. {In general} I am however fairly ignorant as far as the M1 carbine goes.
So what am I missing?
Oh, one question in particular. I see that some mag catches will not support the GI 30 round mags. How do I tell if I have on that will or not?
The M2 catch is made for the 30 rounders, and the 15. The M1 catch is just for the 15 rounders and lacks the extra little 'finger' that comes around and engages the extra tab on the left side of the 30 round mags. The quick way to tell is that the M2 catch has a M with a line under it on the right side, and the extra tab finger, and the M1 catch just has an M (I think, been a while since I looked at the M1 catch, and I have an M2 in my rifle).