Survivalist Forum banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
105 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm relatively new to the communications side of prepping and just recently started looking at radio/police scanners. From what I've gathered most major metropolitan areas are moving to digital which seems too expensive for me right now. I'm looking for something basic to keep in my truck and maybe take camping with me to get weather alerts. So far I have looked at the Uniden BC72XLT which seems pretty affordable but I may be willing to pay over $100 for something better. I'm not looking for a new hobby, I just want to hear basic police, fire, weather, and ems transmissions.

Thanks for your time,

·
Registered
524 Posts
What you need to get the most out of a scanner in your area is definitely dependant on the specifics of your area. Check out www.radioreference.com (go up to the databse link at the top and punch down into your state/city/county.) That should give you a good idea of exactly what public safety agencies are using in your area. You might be lucky and still have non-trunked analog signals to work with. If that's the case, the Uniden you found looks like it would actually be a great unit to get started.

If not, you may end up with a glorified weather radio. (Hint: most FRS/GMRS bubble pack radios you can get at Walmart/Costco can tune into the weather bands, although a dedicated unit would server better than either one.)

Considering cities as big as Tucson still use analog/non-trunking systems pretty heavily, it's certainly possible you'll luck out. Otherwise I'd personally hold off and save up a bit more to get something that will actually cover what my town is using. (I've held off on a scanner for that exact reason. Phoenix is heavy into digital trunked super mega w00t w00t systems these days.)

·
Registered
105 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Thanks for the quick reply thoreau, and very informative.

Here's what it says for my area: