Survivalist Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
55 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all!

I picked up a Savage Arms 30-30 Model 170 Series B pump action rifle from a friend last night. The price is $100.

The gun has not been fired in at least four years, possibly longer. From what I can see it looks OK to me. The pump slides nice and smoothly. There is very very slight rusting on the barrel, nothing major at all IMO. You can not even notice it from a few feet away. The wood stock/pump are a bit beat up also.

I would like to clean/oil the gun, but I have no experience with taking one apart. I have some CLP breakfree that I bought for my Ruger 10/22. (I have fired about 1k rounds through the 10/22 and have not cleaned it yet either)

I would like to try to get it to the outdoor range next weekend hopefully.

Any thoughts on what I should do? Take it to a gun shop? Advice on disassembling/cleaning the rifle? Any particular ammo I should purchase?

I will try to get some pictures of it up later. I am pretty excited as this is my second firearm purchase and I figured for a $100 it wasn't a bad deal. Any thoughts on the price??

Thanks for any help, I appreciate it!

·
Registered
559 Posts
Great price IMO!
The wood can easlily be sanded and restained which will greatly improve the look and value.

The rust can be removed by putting some oil on a piece of 0000 steel wool and gently rubbing the rusted area.

I have never taken that model apart so I am hesitant to tell you how. Most guns I just kind of figure it out as I go.

If I were to take a guess I would say that there is some type of screw on the end of the magazine cap that you can remove so you can slide the pump off. The receivermay need to come aprt first to free up the pump though.

The barrel is probably fixed (either pressed or threaded)