Survivalist Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
167 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So I'm new to the Survivalist scene. And I recently just purchased my first gun, a Ruger Mark III 22/45 with a Bull Barrel (5 1/2in.). I purchased this gun because before shooting it I've never actually shot a pistol and wanted to get used to the action. Now I want to move into the riffles and so I've been looking to purchase a .22 riffle that I can share ammunition with. I've had my heart set on a Marlin Golden 39A. I love the lever action and from everything I've read it's a very accurate riffle that'll last a lifetime.

But just the other day my dog tore some of the ligaments in her knee, which means I had to spend over half the money I had saved for my new riffle on her tests and steroids. So now I'm faced with saving up for another couple months or finding another riffle that'll serve me just as well for a lower price (the Marlin was sort of pricey at $500 for a new Golden 39A).

So I'm asking, are there any suggestions as to a new riffle I should be looking at that's less expensive or perhaps I should just save up again for the Marlin. Any advice would be appreciated!

Paul of Mobile

·
Rifleman
1,600 Posts
Have you looked at the Ruger 10/22? Great gun for the money. You can customize it yourself and you should be able to find one on the used market for $150 or so.

·
Banned
1,533 Posts
've had my heart set on a Marlin Golden 39A. I love the lever action and from everything I've read it's a very accurate riffle that'll last a lifetime.
GREAT CHOICE !!! Buy it and never look back .

Rifle ................................just say'n :D:

·
Opinionated old fart.
8,046 Posts
Have you looked at the Ruger 10/22? Great gun for the money. You can customize it yourself and you should be able to find one on the used market for $150 or so.
NO! You have selected a good rifle, there is no reason you can't wait a little longer to get a good one.

·
Registered
1,370 Posts