Survivalist Forum banner
1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Banned
6,146 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
:thumb:

Just got it paroled from the local fun store after is sat in 3 day time out (enough to make a guy kick a Chicago Democrat in the balls). Also if the FFL holder hit's one button on the ISP instant check wrong it takes about 15 minutes to wade through the phone system. Oh well he serves really good coffee in his shop, and he's got this 1917 Enfield ...

First impression - man this thing is coated with a lot of really gooey oil. Shop towel from the dealer cleaned it up a bit. Opened the action and dropped the mag. This thing is TIGHT. Finish is dark black parkerizing - looks nice and even. Quick look and no real tool marks to be seen. All the pieces seem to be in the right places. Magazine (only get one) says made in Italy, I'm not an expert in 1911 mags but this one seems kinda on the cheap side. It has a metal follower and plasic (foot? boot?) on the bottom.

Took it home and dry fired a few times - nice crisp trigger. I was planing to clean it with Ed's White (Ed's Red minus the tranny fluid) but couldn't wait. I also meant to get some cheap ball ammo from the Fun Store but all he had on the shelf was a 100 round bulk pack and some high zoot self defense ammo. So I just used some reloads I have for my S&W 45 ACP revolver, cast 255 gr swc. I figured these might not feed 100% but I WANT TO SHOOT GO BANG BOOM CLANG NOW! Loaded 1 round into mag - racked the slide. Pressed trigger bang, clang! Picked up the case and it looks like a fired 45 case.

I load 8 rounds, I know but I WANT TO SHOOT GO BANG BOOM CLANG NOW! This time when I rack the slide I get a failure to feed. New pistol, 8 rounds in mag and SWC not surprising it balked. Cleared and tried with 7 rounds in magazine. It ate them all without a hickup.

Seems that it shoots straighter that I can hold it still. Now to get a couple more mags and a holster

·
Registered
15 Posts