Survivalist Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am new to the food preps "game" and have been cooking brown rice, dehydrating it, then storing it in vacuum sealed jars. Another post in these forums suggests you can store brown rice up to 7 years (if properly prepared), but there is a threat of it going rancid. My question is how do you know it is rancid (other than ingesting and getting sick)? Is there a smell/color/something else? Or, do you just take your chance?

·
Banned
30,720 Posts
Sadly, there are no easy home tests on rancidity. By the time your nose warns you, it is beyond late. Only a food lab can test reliably.

We get by on posted guidelines if we are smart.

I can point you to a specific brown rice recipe made by one of our leading food experts who has a lab background.
https://www.survivalistboards.com/showthread.php?t=747081

The jars are fine for a few years, but if you want real longevity in any stored dry food you have to go with mylar and O2As.

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Sadly, there are no easy home tests on rancidity. By the time your nose warns you, it is beyond late. Only a food lab can test reliably.

We get by on posted guidelines if we are smart.

I can point you to a specific brown rice recipe made by one of our leading food experts who has a lab background.
https://www.survivalistboards.com/showthread.php?t=747081

The jars are fine for a few years, but if you want real longevity in any stored dry food you have to go with mylar and O2As.
Ah, cool, that was the posting I referred to in my original post!

Your response raises a couple new questions.

When you say "cook it like pasta", what exactly does that mean? Does it mean add a significantly larger amount of water than the instructions call for (e.g. 1 cup of rice gets 1 3/4 cups of water for my particular rice)?

I was under the impression jars (if stored away from light) were as good or better than mylar. Am I wrong?