Survivalist Forum banner

1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Hail to the King, Baby
1,566 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am looking at a couple of pieces of kit I have no experience with, and am hoping people here can shed some light.

The first one is the Self Reliance Outfitters stainless steel canteen. I don't have titanium money, so stainless is where it will be at. Does anyone have experience with this canteen? I will be getting the entire system if I jump, so anyone who has used the stove and cup also would be helpful.

(and YES, I know he fluffed his resume for dual survivor, I DON'T CARE. All I am looking after is the quality of the gear.)

The second one is the wool Patu blanket from Afghanistan. A Sergeant in my last unit kept one in his BOB, said it was warmer than a Woobie (bold statement).

I know that 100% wool is the magic number for warmth, and they are. the non-knockoffs are 46" by 96". Fair bit of fabric, but that's ALL I know. Anyone who used one before, had experience overseas (Astronomy, feel free to chime in whenever you like) with one, some feedback would be greatly appreciated.

Currently I am using an issue Woobie and poncho combo, with a sleeping bag zipper from Seattle Fabrics added to the Woobie, as well as the drawstring mod. I COULD do the Ranger Taco bit by adding a wool blanket and casualty blanket, but that gets heavy.

I am working with what I've got for the moment, and that means a lot of it is my old issued stuff.

thoughts and opinions?

·
Super Moderator
Psalm 34:4
23,145 Posts
I don’t have either one so I can’t help but I’m interested in responses about the blanket so I’m posting this just so I can track the thread easier.

Better then a woobie? This I gotta know about.

·
Registered
6,280 Posts