Survivalist Forum banner

1 - 20 of 99 Posts

·
Registered
47 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello All,

(Just to provide a brief background so that you all can better advise me). I am in my mid twenties and live on the east coast. I've grown up hiking and camping. My dad took my brother and I on multiple trips a year growing where he taught us survival skills and general camping knowledge/skills. I have always camped in groups as large as 10 people and as small as 2.

I am learning that as I have gotten older that it is hard to coordinate even with 1 other person to go to the backwoods and primitively camp. I don't want that to limit my time in the great outdoors. Thats why I am going to take up solo camping. That gets to my question in my title. I am confident in my skills that i have acquired through the years. I am not an expert by any means, but i have acquired average primitive skills to where i am confident in building a few different shelters, starting fires with strikers... basic stuff. I practice general safety and know the basic "do's" and "don'ts" of camping to avoid harmful interaction with both people and animals. I am always practicing and looking to learn new skills but thats not the question i have right now.

My question is what are some psychological tips and advice that you could give me to get me through the first few nights. Past experiences have left me a bit paranoid due to encounters with some sketchy people at night, and a bear encounter that left me and my brother with a broken tent (Food and cooking area was a good distance away from the tent). Sorry for the length, and thank you in advance for any tips or things that help you out!

·
Registered
974 Posts