Survivalist Forum banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Tales of a Scorched Earth
557 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello,

So I am fairly new to this board, as well as the whole idea. I don't think I am typical of the ones that come here (I might be making a generalization). I do not really have many 'skills' that would be useful in the Post-SHTF world. I am hard worker though and willing to learn, but I make my living, working in a Office building.

We have recently moved to a House, in what I would call semi-rural surburbia. Each house has about a acre of mixed vegetation and/or trees.

My Wife is kind of on-board with my thoughts and ideas (about prep, etc). She doesn't join in with me in doing the prep stuff (such as food storage etc), but she is excited about building a garden and possibly having pigs and/or goats?

We have a Australian Cattle Dog, who is pretty intelligent.

We have about 2-3 months of food in the pantry/garage, but not really sure we have the right things. I think we have around 5 5 gallon water jugs, and I know we need more.

I downloaded a bunch of ebooks and things about different survival topics, I am involved with my neighbors in a local neighborhood emergency teams, I am also studying to become a Ham radio operator, to help out in emergencies/contacting etc. I am scheduled to take a first aid/cpr and diaster response training with the American Red Cross. Other skills that I should try to learn?

I've never hunted, and I have never owned a gun, but I have gone to the gun range and fired weapons. Where should I start? I know I have seen many mentions of Mossburg 500's for shotguns and 10/22 rugers for rifles. Would a 10/22 ruger be good for a first time hunter? Also good for home defense?

I guess I am just looking for someone to point me in the right direction lol, I have been lurking alot and reading many great articles, but sometimes it gets overwhelming.