Survivalist Forum banner

1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Founder
16,867 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Which is the best mosquito and tick repellent, Picaridin, Permethrin, or DEET?

Picaridin is odorless, colorless, and is part of the Piperidine, which is an organic compound. Picaridin is suppose to be effective for up to around 10 hours.

Permethrin is part of the Pyrethroid family which is organic. Permethrin works by paralyzing insects. From what I have found, clothing treated with Permethrin does not repel insects, but kills them after they come into contact with it. This gives biting bugs time to bite their victim.

On a recent hiking trip I sprayed my clothes down with Permethrin the day before the trip. A tick still got under my shirt and was able to sting me on my belly.

DEET is a synthetic compound that repels biting bugs. Studies show DEET can be effective up to around 6 hours, depending on DEET percentage.

I have been using DEET for around 40 years and have been happy with the results. As compared to Permethrin which did not protect from biting bugs. I have not used Picaridin, but plan on it during my next hiking trip. As a backup I am also bringing a bottle of Repel 40% DEET

~~~~ EDIT ~~~~

Decided to go hiking on Sunday July 19, 2020. Started off the morning with a shower, shaved, put on my underwear, stepped outside and sprayed myself down with Picaridin. We are talking head to feet, sides, and the back as good as I could get.

Got the the woods, then sprayed my clothes and shoes with Repel 40% deet.

I was wearing cargo shorts, short socks, and skechers shoes.

Spent a little over 5 hours in the woods, traveled 10.2 miles - used a hiking app - and got bit by one tick just above my short no show shocks.

Let's just say I am very happy with the results.

Pictures of the trip have been attached.

Attachments

·
Registered
2,715 Posts
I believe permethrin is a pretty effective repellent also.