Survivalist Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Live Free or Die
3,862 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
We all know that solving problems and helping people is a great way to make money. Am I the only one who sees the business opportunity presented by tis virus?

Among other things, I am an certified HVAC/R tech. I am doing the research now to start a new business installing AntiMicrobial UV lights and HEPA filters inside the air handlers of people's homes.
I have already done 2 houses just to see how hard it is, and isn't bad at all. The service I anticipate offering would including cleaning the coils of the evaporator, clearing the drain tube(where needed), installing the lights, power supply, and new filter. Parts, including bulb, transformer, power supply and filter are all available for less than $200. I am thinking a total of $350 parts and labor for the job on most homes with a standard split system unit. Does that seem a reasonable price? I normally charge $95/hour for any repair work I do, so I don't think I am too far out of line. Thoughts?

·
Registered
2,425 Posts
Pricing seems fair, as does the idea!

You might take another look at sourcing your install parts, and their supply chain though.

If your overhead can accommodate it, mayhaps buy up parts you’d need now to install say 10 households worth of units.

Price accordingly to customers, without gouging.

Reactions: A_SonofLiberty

·
Registered
817 Posts
We all know that solving problems and helping people is a great way to make money. Am I the only one who sees the business opportunity presented by tis virus?

Among other things, I am an certified HVAC/R tech. I am doing the research now to start a new business installing AntiMicrobial UV lights and HEPA filters inside the air handlers of people's homes.