Survivalist Forum banner

1 - 20 of 29 Posts

·
Registered
5,607 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I work in an office, my coworkers celebrate everything. Usually with Starbucks coffee boxes, bags of bagels, fruit and pastries. Everyone contributes cash, including me. Inevitably, two days later everything is gone except for some spotty bananas (yum), the odd bagel and a paper Starbucks sack with what remains of the single serve sweetner packets. On the third day I snag the paper bag of sweetners off the counter in the same kitchen and segregate each brand of sweetner into its own ziplock with that type of sweetner, all from past Starbucks paper sacks. I take them home when I cant fit sny more packets in and start a new ziplock. If the balloon goes up while I'm at work, they go into my GHB for my loooong trip home. I've been doing this for nearly two decades now, but, until recently it was under the radar.

Do you consider this to be stealing, frugal, cheap, etc. My first inclination is to laugh and say something sarcastic but they are thin skinned suburbanites and helicoptor parent types. Perfect houses, perfect nieghborhoods, perfect children....surface is important, apparently. I'm the older guy with the grandkids, one of several on the floor, otherwise, a grayman. Ugh.....thanks for your input and comments.

·
Retired curmudgeon
18,380 Posts
Nah, the kitchen police would just throw it all away. After three days and nobody's snagged it I'd say it's yours.

Most people would balk at scavenging sugar packets out of an old starbucks bag.

I still have some condiments packets out of Vietnam era rations including the instant coffee and P-38.

·
Crazy Cat Lady
Plan to Alamo at home.
15,985 Posts
I think it is OK and generally I am a very moralizing person.

Taking the packets from the store to hoard, would be a problem.