Survivalist Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
just starting.
454 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Ok guys, I am new to any form of oil lamps. I want to pick up a few along with a nice supply of the oil. God knows its all real cheap. But on ebay and some other online stores I am finding alot of kerosene ones. Like these. http://cgi.ebay.com/NEW-LOT-2-KEROS...emQQptZLH_DefaultDomain_0?hash=item45f11b4743

My question is, can I just use regular lamp oil. The ultra-clear odorless etc kind?
The lamps look identical to the regular oil kind.
Thanks.

·
Vampire Slayer
6,905 Posts
I use regular lamp oil. Be sure to have your lamps already set to go, it takes a while for the wick to become fully saturated. Learned this recently when I tried to fill a lamp and light it.:)

·
just starting.
454 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
wow. Thanks for the quick replay. I ordering some now lol. And thanks for the heads up on keeping them filled. I would never have thought of that. I would have ended up sitting in dark wondering wtf is wrong with my lamps lol

·
Registered
537 Posts
Found 4 oil lamps at local Dollar Store,,$2.00 each,,,purchased all 4 of them,,,also a case of scented lamp oil for $1.00 a bottle,,,purchased the case,,,12 bottles total,,,extra wicks for lamps were purchased at Ace hardware locally for .97 cents each,,,purchased 12,,all they had,,,these lamps will burn lamp oil and kerosene equally well,,,have used 2 of the lamps already,,,very wise to keep a few oil lamps on hand,,,just in case,,,SEMPER FI

·
Founder
16,867 Posts
Things to consider:

Type and quality of the kerosene - clear, colored, scented
Size of reservoir on the lantern
Trimming the wick before use
Keep the lantern where children can not reach it