Survivalist Forum banner

1 - 20 of 34 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So, I'm pretty new to long-term prepping. We've done a few things around the house to help with some basics. Now I'm looking at long-term food storage, and would really like some help. And when I say long-term food storage, I'm referring to storing food that will last about 20 years when it's sealed and stored properly.

I recently purchased a few 5-gallon buckets and gamma seal lids. I also bought mylar bags, oxygen absorbers, and a tool to seal the mylar bags. Now, I just need to know *what* to put in the bags.

From the research I've done, beans and rice seem to be the most popular items for long-term storage. And, it's suggested that one person would need about 5 lbs of beans per month, plus about 20 cups of rice per month.

I'm just wondering what some of you folks have stored, aside from rice and beans? Spaghetti, flour, sugar? If so, how much is recommended?

I was also wondering if any of you have stored other things that may not be so bland, like soup mixes, salt, spices, etc.

Are there any special instructions that I should consider if I'm going to store these things?

I'd really appreciate any help! Thanks!

·
Forum Administrator
6,021 Posts
Welcome to SB.

First, read through this thread compilation from TxHills, It should answer most of your questions. http://www.survivalistboards.com/showthread.php?t=209648

Any questions after that, we would be happy to answer. Don't be afraid to ask, we are here to help people prepare, for 'whatever'.

·
What, me worry?
2,621 Posts
Coming here and asking questions is a good start. Welcome.

I have some questions for you.

What do you like to eat?

Do you know how to prepare the food you are storing?

Have you considered storing food, like canned food which will last for years, then rotating through that?